This section features Rawdon families telling their stories. Books have told the story of Rawdon including those by Marcel Fournier and Gérard Brady, and identified dozens, if not hundreds, of families who have helped shape this community. These families represent some forty cultural communities. With the contribution of these families, still present in Rawdon, you will get to know them better.

The “people of Kildare,” if we can use this term to identify them, have done a remarkable job and published a book that provides a wealth of information about the families who have lived there and still do. They will recognize themselves. In fact, they were the first to provide family histories. “Tightly knit,” as their book puts it, they gave birth to many of Rawdon’s great families.

For these family histories, the research, website and books published by Daniel Parkinson, who identified and documented the history of the first families to settle in Rawdon, cannot be overlooked. His website focuses on families, mainly of the Protestant faith, from England, Scotland and Ireland. You will find many families with familiar surnames and, in many cases, with descendants still living in Rawdon. Names such as Blagrave, Copping, Dugas, Jones, Marlin, Parkinson, Purcell, Rourke, Scott and Tinkler, to name but a few, can be found in his publications. To find out more about these families and many others: https://uptorawdon.com/.  https://uptorawdon.com/.

These family histories will be presented across all communities and will constitute a legacy for future generations. This is a bilingual site (English-French), but we would be pleased to receive historical material and archives in other languages, as well.

The family histories that are published are presented in alphabetical order, for easy retrieval.

 

,

Cette section laisse la place aux familles de Rawdon qui nous racontent leur histoire. Des livres ont raconté l’histoire de Rawdon notamment ceux de Marcel Fournier et de Gérard Brady et identifié des dizaines, voire des centaines, de familles ayant laissé leurs marques dans la communauté. Ces familles représentent une quarantaine de communautés culturelles. La contribution de ces familles toujours présentes à Rawdon vous les fera mieux connaitre.

Les gens de Kildare, s’il est possible de les nommer ainsi, ont fait un travail remarquable et publié un livre qui fournit énormément de renseignements sur les familles qui y ont habité et qui y habitent toujours. Ils se reconnaitront. Ils ont d’ailleurs été les premiers à transmettre des histoires de familles. « Tricotés serrés » comme le souligne leur livre, ils ont donné naissance à plusieurs des grandes familles de Rawdon.

Ces histoires de famille ne sauraient passer sous silence les travaux de recherche, le site web et les livres publiés par M. Daniel Parkinson qui a identifié et documenté l’histoire des premières familles présentes sur le territoire de Rawdon. Ce site met l’accent sur les familles provenant d’Angleterre, d’Écosse et d’Irlande et de confession protestante. Vous y retrouverez plusieurs familles aux patronymes familiers et, dans de nombreux cas, avec des descendants toujours présents à Rawdon. Des noms comme Blagrave, Copping, Dugas, Jones, Marlin, Parkinson, Purcell, Rourke, Scott et Tinkler, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns, s’y retrouvent. Pour en connaitre plus sur ces familles et de nombreuses autres :  https://uptorawdon.com/.

Ces histoires de famille seront présentées toutes communautés confondues et constitueront un legs aux prochaines générations. Il s’agit d’un site bilingue (français-anglais), mais il nous fera également plaisir de recevoir du matériel historique et des archives dans d’autres langues.

Pour retrouver les histoires de familles publiées, elles sont présentées par ordre alphabétique.

 

,